Playing with 3-1/2″ Floppy Disks #4

Floppy Disk Art, Techniques

Ever wonder about what to do with all those 3-1/2″ floppy disks that you have taking up space in your office, closet, house?  Well here’s yet another idea.

First prep the disk.

  1. Take off the metal slide bar
  2. Pry open the disk just enough to pull out the floppy disk inside
  3. Prime the disk with white primer paint (I used rust-o-leum’s white primer spray paint)
Prep the disk

Prep the disk

For this project, I used yellow and lavender craft acrylic paint.  Where the label and the metal slide bar were, I painted yellow.  The rest was painted with lavender.  Let go of making it perfect, you’ll be embellishing so much that the base coats will be hardly noticeable.

Base coats of paint

Base coat of paint

I put on 3 coats of color. You can put as many or as few as you want.

After 3 coats of paint

After 3 coats of paint

I pulled out mardi gras beads and my white pearl metallic craft paint.  I painted one layer of the white pearl paint all over the disk.  Already the paint imperfections are less noticeable. 🙂

Time for embellishing

Time for embellishing

I debated on whether to show each step to the finished product, when I realized that I want you to do your own thing, come up with your own ideas.

Basically what I did is cut up sections of the beads and using a very good craft glue and proceeded to put the beads all over the place.  I used Duco Cement that I found at our local hardware store.  Use anything that is strong, dry clear, and will adhere to plastic (if you’re using plastic beads).

The Finished Disk

The Finished Disk

I plan to use this with other disks to create a mural by adhering these to a large foam core board with double stick tape.

The main thing is to have fun and explore your own creativity.

Maureen,  The Mandala Lady

One thought on “Playing with 3-1/2″ Floppy Disks #4

Leave a Reply

